60 years of the Rome Treaties

On 25 March 1957, the project of European unification was born on Rome’s Capitol Hill, when high representatives of six countries ((Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) signed the Treaty of Rome “to establish the foundations of an ever closer union among the European peoples”. The Treaties of Rome, which became the foundation stone of the European Economic Community, were signed; these treaties established the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC-EURATOM) moreover they envisaged the creation of a customs union and of the European Institutions: the Commission, the Council, the Parliament and the Court of Justice.

"The European spirit signifies being conscious of belonging to a cultural family and to have a willingness to serve that community in the spirit of total mutuality, without any hidden motives of hegemony or the selfish exploitation of others. The 19th century saw feudal ideas being opposed and, with the rise of a national spirit, nationalities asserting themselves. Our century, that has witnessed the catastrophes resulting in the unending clash of nationalities and nationalisms, must attempt and succeed in reconciling nations in a supranational association. This would safeguard the diversities and aspirations of each nation while coordinating them in the same manner as the regions are coordinated within the unity of the nation".

— Robert Schuman, founding father of the European Union. 

Related Posts



Rue Montoyer 24/box 20
BE-1000 Brussels
Tel.: +32 2 287 08 68
Email: info@eos-oes.eu

Top Dates

Upcoming Events

News & Press – Archives